About Viapass

On January 21, 2011, the three Regions of Belgium (Flanders, Brussels and Wallonia) signed a Political Agreement on the reform of their road tax system. The agreement envisages the introduction of an intelligent kilometre charging system for HGVs and over time a mechanism for the effective use of cars. The agreement also provides a reform of the road taxes, which will in time be based on the environmental specifications of the vehicle.

The project has been given the brand name Viapass. The trademark has been registered with the Benelux Bureau for Intellectual Property, and it has been recognized as a Community trademark with the European Office for Harmonization of the Internal Market.

The Viapass project is currently being put into practice. During the second half of 2011 and in 2012, the three Regions have carried out a number of preparatory studies with a consultant. In the period around New Year 2012 – 2013, the Regions have finalized an architecture for the kilometre charge for lorries. Work is underway on an architecture for the road vignette for light vehicles. Furthermore, a test project on a kilometre charge for passenger cars will be launched.

For the three Regions of Belgium, the Viapass project will mark a permanent transition towards a fairer and more sustainable way of road pricing.

Board of Directors


  • Brigitte Pinte (vice president; delegation leader Brussels)
  • Eric Cooremans
  • Simon Raquin
  • Isabelle De Visscher
  • Alain Embrechts (government commissioner)


  • Bart Dewandeleer (vice president; delegation leader Flanders)
  • Erwin Aerts
  • Nele Degraeuwe
  • Maarten Van Onckelen
  • Luc Daelmans (government commissioner)


  • Jaques Dehalu
  • Frédéric de Bueger (President; delegation leader Wallonia)
  • Pascal Lehance (government commissioner)
  • Frédérique Legros
  • Jean-Louis Gilles

The VIAPASS CEO, Johan Schoups, is member of the Board with advisory voice